What's onLocal directoryOffers & competitionsJobsHistoryMapFeatured
Contact usPost an event
Florence Gardens, Chipping Sodbury Yate Shopping Centre GR Autoservices Active Acton Court Heritage Open Days 2019 Memorial Woodlands: woodland cemetery and funeral directors

What's on


Sunday 15th September 2019, 3:00pm

Concert: The Odhecaton 1501 - A Musical Revolution

Acton Court

The year 1501 changed music for ever. It saw the publication in Venice of the world's first ever book of printed music.

This revolutionary book was called Harmonice Musices Odhecaton – a collection of 96 exquisite pieces by the greatest composers of the age, such as Josquin, Japart, Compere, Isaac and Agricola. It placed sacred motets side-by-side with bawdy love songs full of fun and innuendo.

Before the Odhecaton, the only way to access or share music was to make or purchase an expensive and laboriously-made manuscript copy. This book signalled the arrival of a new era, in which mass-produced music books became accessible and affordable to people all over Europe.

Tickets £20 | £18 concessions*

www.actoncourt.com/special-events



Venue information

Acton Court
Latteridge Road, Iron Acton, BS37 9TL
www.actoncourt.com



Pass & Totterdell Plumbing

Razzamataz

Other events

Thursday 22nd August 2019

Monday 26th August 2019

Tuesday 27th August 2019

Wednesday 28th August 2019

Thursday 29th August 2019

Saturday 31st August 2019

Monday 2nd September 2019

Tuesday 3rd September 2019

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Click here for more events.




© 2019 Cromhall Media Ltd